Powered by ICT Unit

Surgery Department

The Department of Surgery started as a clinical department in LAUTECH Teaching Hospital, Osogbo and as an academic department of the College of Health Sciences in the Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Osogbo. The department is involved in the training of students and resident doctors, researches, and provision of care to the good people of Osun State. It also serves neighboring states. Specialties in the department include General surgery, Orthopaedic surgery, Plastic surgery, Urology, Paediatric surgery and Neurosurgery. Residents from other subspecialities such as Family Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Ear, Nose and Throat as well as Ophthalmology on rotation are also trained in the department. The department is actively involved in researches both within and in collaboration with other institutions in and outside the country. The department currently enjoys full accreditation by the National Postgraduate Medical College of our training in part 1, General Surgery, and partial accreditation in surgery, Orthopaedic surgery and Urology.

Units and Services

The department is divided into different sub-specialties as follows:
  • General Surgery       2 firms
  • Orthopaedic surgery       2 firms
  • Plastic surgery      1 firm
  • Urology       1 firm
  • Neurosurgery      1 firm
  • Paediatric surgery       1 firm
These units are supported by resident doctors and interns. Each unit has separate activities like clinics, ward rounds, seminars, and theatre sessions weekly.

Our Joint Clinical Meeting Holds on:

Monday review - for review of cases seen over the weekend  3-5pm
Wednesday for Grand round weekly   3-5pm
Morbidity/mortality meeting once a month  3-5pm
Journals' club Wednesday, once a month  3-5pm
Thursday for resident clinical presentation - weekly  3-5pm

    Prof. Olaitan P. B.
    HOD Surgery